apimondia 2019 montréal

Welcome to Apimondia 2019 🇨🇦

What is the international event that brings together every two years nations from Russia to Chile, from China to Australia, from the United States to Ethiopia, from Brazil to Slovenia? The Olympics ? no Apimondia!

If you are passionate about beekeeping, be certain that Apimondia is the event not to miss. We had a very intense week in Montreal. How lucky to have been able to participate in an event of this level. Extremely well organized, in a very welcoming city, gathering four days long the world’s beekeeping stakeholders.

A high quality program

On the content side, the high quality program brought together lecturers literally addressing the whole range of topics related to beekeeping. Five parallel sessions permanently, from Monday to Thursday. This makes conferences to follow (and leave …). There were also the daily poster sessions, and of course the exhibitors hall from around the globe.

Beautiful encounters

Apimondia is also the pleasure of discovery. Sharing with beekeepers from around the globe. Open to discuss their beekeeping practices on small or large farms. In this respect we have been able to deepen their conception of precision beekeeping. Many people make increasing use of the data to carry out their exploitation.

Know-how

We found our friends in Broodminder to build relationships and define the rest of our roadmap. We have good plans for 2020. As at every meeting, we took the opportunity to consolidate our vision in the medium / long term.

On the floor, we also found other international actors who share the mission to improve the conditions of beekeepers using modern technology. ApisProtect, Beeguard, Beehero, Hostabee or Nectar are just some of them.

Clearly the hive monitoring technologies have occupied a good place at Apimondia. Especially in the conference rooms but also on the expo. This is not only the signal that something is changing in the world of beekeeping. But also a wave of bottom that the most advanced beekeepers have already integrated into their practices.

And a state of mind turned towards the future

The only sad note of the event was that more than 50% of the honeys presented at the honey competition were rejected by the laboratory. This is the tangible signal of something wrong with the industry. And so much the better if it serves to raise global awareness to initiate change.

Finally, I would like to point the positive mindset of all the actors that I could cross during these four days. The bee and the beekeepers certainly have problems to overcome. But the desire to go beyond them was clearly tangible in every corner of the Palais des Congrès in Montreal.

apimondia 2019 montréal

apimondia 2019 montréal

Bienvenus à Apimondia 2019 🇨🇦

Quel est l’événement international qui réunit tous les deux ans des nations allant de la Russie au Chili, de la Chine à l’Australie, des États-Unis à l’Éthiopie, du Brésil à la Slovénie ? Les jeux olympiques ? non Apimondia !

Si l’apiculture vous passionne, soyez certain que Apimondia est l’événement à ne pas rater. Nous avons vécu une semaine d’une grande intensité à Montréal. Quelle chance d’avoir pu participer à un événement de ce niveau. Extrêmement bien organisé, dans une ville très accueillante, réunissant quatre jours durant les acteurs mondiaux de l’apiculture.

Un programme de qualité

Du côté des contenus, le programme d’une grande qualité a réuni des conférenciers abordant littéralement toute la palette des sujets en lien avec l’apiculture. Cinq sessions parallèles en permanence, du lundi au jeudi. Cela en fait de conférences à suivre (et à laisser…). Il y a eu également les séances de posters journalières, et bien sûr la halle des exposants venus des quatre coins du globe.

Des belles rencontres

Apimondia est aussi le plaisir de la découverte. Le partage avec des apiculteurs venus des quatre coins du globe. Ouverts à la discussion sur leurs pratiques apicoles sur des petites ou grandes exploitations. A cet égard nous avons pu approfondir leur conception de l’apiculture de précision. Nombreux sont ceux qui font un usage croissant de la donnée pour mener à bien leur exploitation.

Du savoir faire

Nous avons retrouvé nos amis de Broodminder pour resserrer des liens et définir la suite de notre feuille de route. Nous avons de beaux projets pour 2020. Comme à chaque rencontre nous avons profité de l’occasion pour consolider notre vision à moyen/long terme.

Sur le parterre, nous avons également retrouvé les autres acteurs internationaux qui partagent la mission d’améliorer les conditions des apiculteurs à l’aide des technologie modernes. ApisProtect, Beeguard, Beehero, Hostabee ou Nectar sont quelques uns d’entre eux.

Clairement les technologies de monitoring de ruches ont occupé une bonne place à Apimondia. En particulier dans les salles de conférence mais également sur l’expo. C’est non seulement le signal que quelque chose est en train de changer dans le monde de l’apiculture. Mais également une vague de fond que les apiculteurs les plus en pointe ont déjà intégré dans leurs pratiques.

Et un état d’esprit tourné vers l’avenir

La seule note triste de l’évènement aura été de constater que plus de 50% des miels présentés au concours de miel ont été recalés par le laboratoire. C’est en effet le signal tangible de quelque chose qui cloche dans la filière. Et tant mieux si cela sert à opérer une prise de conscience globale pour amorcer le changement.

Enfin, il faut remarquer l’état d’esprit de tous les acteurs que j’ai pu croiser durant ces quatre jours. L’abeille et les apiculteurs ont certainement des problèmes à surmonter. Mais l’envie de les dépasser était clairement tangible dans tous les coins du Palais des Congrès de Montréal.

apimondia 2019 montréal